3 Best Ohio State Buckeyes QBs to Win the National Championship

The Ohio State Buckeyes have always been one of the best college football programs in the entire country. In their storied history since their inaugural season in 1890, they have won eight national championships spanning eight decades of success.

Quarterbacks have always been the most important players in football, including at the college level. Eight different quarterbacks have won a national championship for the Ohio State Buckeyes. Here are the top three quarterbacks among them.

The Ohio State Buckeyes’ best QBs to win a national championship

3 – Rex Kern

Rex Kern is best known for being a winner at the college football level. He made 29 starts in three seasons as a quarterback for the Buckeyes and posted an incredible 27-2 overall record. He twice helped Ohio State appear in the Rose Bowl and won there, earning the Buckeyes the national championship for the 1968 college football season. Kern was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2007 for his achievements.

#2 – Craig Krenzel

Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Craig Krenzel
Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Craig Krenzel

Craig Krenzel had his best season with the Buckeyes in his first year as a starting quarterback. It was also one of their best overall seasons in program history, going a perfect 14-0 record for the 2002 college football season, which ended in a national championship by defeating the Miami Hurricanes at the Fiesta Bowl.

#VintageCFB😎Ohio State had a LOT of amazing QBs. But none felt the big celebrations like Craig Krenzel did after the Michigan game in 2002. https://t.co/J7zq9FRUzP

The Hurricanes came into the game as the defending national champions of the previous season and were on an incredible 34-game active winning streak, making them massive favorites going into the game against the Buckeyes. Krenzel helped overcome it all with a double overtime win.

#1 – Cardale Jones

Cardale Jones, quarterback for the Ohio State Buckeyes
Cardale Jones, quarterback for the Ohio State Buckeyes

When legendary Ohio State quarterback JT Barrett was injured in the final game of the 2014 college football regular season, the Buckeyes had to hand the job to Cardale Jones, who had never started a game. previously, for their playoff run. The opportunity presented itself to Jones, and he took advantage of it.

Never forget when Cardale Jones threw JT Barrett flat 🔥 https://t.co/8my7QFj3kU

Cardale Jones helped the Buckeyes win the Big Ten National Championship game in the first start of his college football career. His second and third starts were wins in the college football playoffs, which resulted in a national championship for the 2014 season. He only started 12 games for the Buckeyes, but he made them count.

Profile Picture

Comments are closed.