Borin wins 200 butterfly for AU Swim’s inaugural GLIAC Championship

UNIVERSITY CENTER, Michigan – Pedro Borin swam an NCAA ‘B’ standard time to win Augustana’s first GLIAC Men’s Individual Swimming and Diving Championship in the 200 butterfly on Sunday at University Center, Michigan.

Borin would qualify for the 200 butterfly final placing third in the prelims with a time of 1:50.82. He went on to win the event final with a time of 1:47.79. He hit the wall with a personal best of over three seconds.

“It was a memorable day for our men’s team,” said Augustana’s head coach. Lindsie Micko noted. “We had someone reach the final in every event and finish with our first GLIAC champion. I’m so proud of how we compete in one of the best NCAA Division II conferences in the country. .”

In the 200-yard butterfly final, Lui Pinto placed 12th with a time of 1:52.87. Earlier in the day, with the preliminaries, Pinto swam a time of 1:53.71. Kacper Mayberg placed 10th in the final with a time of 1:52.39, an improvement from his preliminary time of 1:53.30.

Pinto and Steven Asmus began Sunday as the first Vikings to advance to the day’s finals in the 500 freestyle, the first event of the day. In the final, Asmus placed 15th with a time of 4:42.55 and Pinto swam a time of 4:43.21. During the preliminaries, Pinto swam a time of 4:41.20, while Asums swam a time of 4:41.27.

Jackson Dirks would then swim a time of 51.61 in the 100m backstroke to finish 12th and advance to the Vikings final. Dircks improved his time in the final, finishing 11th with a time of 51.14.

In the 100m breaststroke, Mason Kauffeld would make his third GLIAC Championships final. Kauffeld swam a time of 58.05 and placed 13th. He improved his time in the final by placing 11th with a time of 57.46.

Capping off day three, the Vikings 800-yard relay team, consisting of Borin, Dircks, Luis Aguilar DelgadoPinto, finished fifth with a time of 6:55.42, which was a personal best for the team.

The Vikings will be back in action on Monday for the final day of the GLIAC Championships starting at 9 a.m. and the finals starting at 4:30 p.m. The action can be followed at


Comments are closed.