Former Vikings first-round pick competing on ‘America’s Got Talent’

Former Minnesota Vikings offensive tackle and 2002 No. 1 draft pick Bryant McKinnie is on America’s Got Talent final season.

Almost two decades ago, in 2002, the Minnesota Vikings entered their first-ever NFL Draft with Mike Tice as head coach. As the Vikings’ offensive line coach for the previous five seasons, no one was shocked when the team’s first draft pick under Tice was former Miami offensive tackle Bryant McKinnie.

McKinnie then spent the first nine seasons of his NFL career at Minnesota as the team’s starting left tackle. His best year in a Vikings uniform came in 2009 when he earned the one and only Pro Bowl selection of his career.

After his tenure with Minnesota, McKinnie spent three more seasons in the league as a member of the Baltimore Ravens and Miami Dolphins. Recently, the former Minnesota offensive lineman revealed that he and other former NFL players had a pretty intriguing opportunity.

Former Minnesota Vikings LT Bryant McKinnie auditions for ‘America’s Got Talent’

After their football careers, former NFL players take a variety of different paths. Some become television analysts for national sports networks and some become sports entertainers in WWE.

Some even try to participate in the television show “America’s Got Talent” as part of a choir made up entirely of current and former NFL players. That’s what McKinnie and a number of other former players have spent their time doing recently.

The Players Choir, made up of former and current NFL members, including McKinnie, was recently given the opportunity to audition for “America’s Got Talent”.

Former Minnesota Vikings lieutenant Bryant McKinnie (far right)

In case anyone is unfamiliar with the TV program, it is a national talent contest that awards winner $1 million and headlining America’s Got Talent in Las Vegas.

In addition to McKinnie, other Players Choir members include Tyrell AdamsTully Banta-Cain, Prince AmukamaraJamon Brown, Brian ScottTerrence Stephens, Ray McElroy, Cameron Lamark Newton and Dwayne Wright.

Good luck to McKinnie and the rest of the players’ choir!

Comments are closed.